Leaders To Be Proud Of Awards

L2BPO aims to recognize exemplary achievement within our community to help to provide LGBTQ+ students and young professionals with examples to emulate and aspire to.





2021 Leaders To Be Proud Of Awards


After close consultation with our Leaders To Be Proud of Partners and internal considerations, we’ve made the difficult decision to postpone our annual Leaders To Be Proud of program and awards ceremony this October in light of the ongoing COVID-19 developments.

For the last 8 years, our Leaders To Be Proud awards have recognized exemplary achievement within our community. We’re genuinely upset and disappointed not to be able to share the experience of these individuals this year in our continued efforts to celebrate Canada’s progress in recognizing LGBTQ+ vale to the professional community and society.

We want to thank all our previous winners and partner for their support and encouragement over the years. As we are frequently reminded, these awards help to provide LBGTQ+ students and young professionals with examples to emulate and aspire to. For this reason, we fully intend to continue hosting the award ceremony in 2021 and beyond. We will be working with our partners to finalize the details and will share more information in the new year.

2019 Award Winners

*people’s titles are what they were when they won

Heather Conway

Board Director of Great-West Life and Amercian Express Bank of Canada

Lifetime Achievement Award

Miguel Mendes

Chief Compliance Officer, BMO Investments Inc.

Professional Leader Award

Kevin Coon

Partner, Baker McKenzie

Leading Executive Ally Award

Reshad Ali

Diversity & Inclusion Specialist, Dentons

Emerging Leader Award

Lauren McCallum

Global Managing Director, Mill Film

Technology Leader Award

Larissa Holmes

Vice President of Talent, Borrowell

Pride at Work Canada Advocate Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

Helen Kennedy
Executive Director – Egale Canada

Professional Leadership Award

Brett House
Vice President and Deputy Chief Economist – Scotiabank

Leading Executive Ally Award

Malcolm Lang
Chief Financial Officer – TD Securities

Pride At Work Canada Advocate Award

Kimberly Messer
North America Business Development Leader, Global Diversity & LGBT + Markets – IBM

Technology Leader Award

Dax Dasilva
Founder & CEO, Lightspeed and Founder – Never Apart

Emerging Leader Award

Pam Hrick
Lawyer – Stockwoods Barristers

Lifetime Achievement Award

Scott Mullin
Former Vice President, Community Relations – TD Bank

Professional Leadership Award

Robert Davis
Partner, Greater Toronto Area Transfer Pricing Leader – KPMG LLP

Jennifer Quinn
Senior Vice President, Commercial Projects – Infrastructure Ontario

Lawrence Spicer
Vice President Audit, P&CB – RBC

Leading Executive Ally Award

Dave Mowat
President & CEO – ATB Financial

Pride At Work Canada Advocate Award

Jennifer Johnson
Partner & National Leader for Risk Assurance Services – PwC

Emerging Leader Award

Michael Helander
CEO and Co-founder – OTI Lumionics